Skip to main content

Classifications Overview

The WHO Family of International Classifications (FIC) is a set of integrated classifications that provide a common language for health information across the world. These include:

Reference classifications

Reference classifications are approved for international reporting and cover the main parameters of health.  WHO is responsible for three primary reference classifications:

Alignment of WHO-FIC draft document on content model

Derived classifications

Derived classifications are extensions of reference classifications, and are created for use within a specialty setting, such as within a national level. See all derived classifications.

Related classifications

Related classifications are complementary to reference and derived classifications, and cover specialty areas not otherwise described in the FIC. See all related classifications